Clinical Student Pledge

I hereby pledge not to “just stand around” at clinicals when there is “nothing to do.” I hereby swear to practice my rapid assessments, assist with baths, shadow PT/Respiratory, and take any opportunities to practice my technical skills, even when not involving MY patient. I hereby pledge to communicate frequently with my nurse and promise to ask questions that help to facilitate deeper understanding when I am NOT confused, and I will not be afraid to ask for clarification or help when I am. I will be assertive in seeking out and pursuing clinical opportunities. I will not step out of the way to always let more experienced/adept/practiced students take the lead. I will not avoid going into my patient’s room for fear of “disturbing them.” I will learn how to become a competent, confident nurse. And this starts by acting like one. I will own these clinicals. I will own being a nurse.

Sincerely,

-RN-to-be

Leave a Reply

